Horace Mann - NEA Foundation Award

Since 2001, Horace Mann has partnered with the National Education Association Foundation to recognize, reward and promote excellence in teaching through the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence. 

In February, five educators from around the country were recognized with the 2014 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.  We congratulate:

  • Kimberley Gilles, language arts educator at Monte Vista High School in Danville, CA;
  • Eileen Sheehy, Advanced Placement government and politics and U.S. government educator at Billing West High School in Billings, MT;
  • Kathleen Sims, early childhood special education and school readiness educator at Foley Elementary School in Foley, MN;
  • Brian Sites, social studies, mathematics, and technology educator at River’s Edge High School in Richland, WA;
  • Christopher Stone, language arts, social studies, mathematics, and science educator at Pond Hill School in Wallingford, CT.

Each recipient received $10,000 and recognition at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence in Education Gala on Feb. 7, 2014.  

2015 nomination process

Each spring, the NEA Foundation accepts nominations from NEA federal, state and direct affiliates for the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.  All nominees must be nominated by an NEA affiliate.  

Learn more about the online nomination process at the NEA Foundation’s website.

WBER-0801 (09/14)

Reach Every Child logo

Join the conversation!  Our educator blog is attracting the attention of top education bloggers.  See what they're saying. 

© 2013 Horace Mann Educators Corporation

CUSTOMER SERVICE Call 800-999-1030

  • Auto and Property
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Central time.
  • Life, Annuity and Group
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 6 p.m. Central time.